Parting Words of Wisdom

After completing an eight-week fill-in teaching contract at the school where I had spent 22 years,  it was easy for me to imagine that I was leaving, not in December, but instead, at the end of the school year in June. In fact, since I would more than likely never see these charming young ladies (and one gentleman) again, that’s exactly what it seemed like to me–the end of the year. And with that sense of termination, I had a strong feeling that I had to wrap things up. One doesn’t spend two months with 160 students without feeling affection for them. And concern. And responsibility. And she cannot just walk away without saying,”Good bye, and all the best for a happy and successful life.” 

So I passed on my best wishes and said my goodbyes.

Some classes got the full version, complete with the song, I Need a Break, by David Myles.

Listen to the fabulous lyrics and watch it here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xOcsjpqg5OQ

Some were also treated to a spectacular performance of my personal Rap with this important message:

Pay attention girls ’cause I’m telling you the truth.

You don’t need any makeup to get you through your youth.

True beauty that is real doesn’t come inside a jar.

It’s important that you realize, you’re great the way you are.

Forget about mascara, foundation, cream and blush.

They may make you look older, but what’s all the rush.

Enjoy your life at sixteen. Learn to love yourself.

Stop looking in the mirror. Leave the products on the shelf.

They cost a pile of money, help companies grow richer.

Just ignore all their slick talk and listen to your teacher.

In other groups I had less time and had to reduce the message to the bare essentials of these three main ideas:

  • No matter what you choose to do in life, make sure that you make learning a life-long quest.
  • No matter how difficult the task or the choice, don’t ever let others do your thinking for you.
  • To the very best of your ability, always be honest and kind to yourself and others.      

Good bye, dear students. I loved spending time with you. Thank you for the precious memories.

  

2 comments on “Parting Words of Wisdom

  1. Sue says:

    Hi Audrey, Thank you for your lovely “parting words of wisdom”. Having read this, I feel wiser already. Hugs Sue

Leave a Reply

