Constant Consistencies

IMG_4121

My, my, my, how time flies!

Looking back on the two-and-a-half-plus years since December 2012–when I was finishing an eight-week teaching fill-in–I can’t help but notice that, although I am now retired, I still rarely and barely have enough time to do everything I want to do, or need to do, or feel compelled to do in my ever-shrinking 24-hour day.

Apparently–since I am in charge–I prefer it that way.

Yes, my life is different and the activities that keep me busy are very different. But the criteria that guide my choices have not changed at all. Indeed, I’m happy to see that, although it took me far too many years to recognize my simple truths, they are still working very well for me: I am still learning; I’m still being honest and kind to myself and others; I still never let anyone do my thinking for me.

And following these principles is what makes my busyness work.

https://sunflowergirls.wordpress.com/2015/02/24/simple-truths-that-work-for-me/

Hmmm. I wonder how many of my students remember my words of wisdom and try to apply them to their lives.

Leave a Reply

