Daily Delight for the Five Senses

Who: I and my 82-year-old companion

What:  walk 5 km

When: 7 a.m.

Where: the perimeter of our community

Why: for mental and physical well-being

How: briskly with lots of communication

Bonus: All of our senses are stimulated.

Yes, it’s true. Not only do we feel and smell the newborn morning air, and see the changes in Mother Nature’s palette, but we also read each other and communicate with a glance.

This kind of bond is founded on mutual respect, and it works beautifully because we never judge or try to control each other with corrections or criticism or evaluation of the reality of the other. We don’t fill our 45 minutes with telling each other what to do or think or feel, nor how to dress or act or speak. We simply welcome and share personal experiences, perceptions, opinions and feelings . We simply listen and hear and touch each other with our stories of what is important–to us.

Our personal voices have a voice. And two ears.

 

6 comments on “Daily Delight for the Five Senses

  1. Audie Jean says:

    Reblogged this on Sunflower Girls and commented:

    This belongs here too, I think.

  2. DohNa says:

    This is so very true…..and I just realized that my ‘walks’ whether on my treadmill or in our neighborhood, plus my 25 minute yoga sessions, serve the same purpose even though I have no companion by my side. Mental and physical well-being; briskly with lots of communication (even though it is just to myself); stimulation of all my senses!

  3. Audie Jean says:

    Yep! We agree. Thanks for reading and commenting.

  4. prichie says:

    I agree. As you’ve read in my blog lately, DohNa, I have started walking more, much more again and plan to increase the sensual stimulation after March 31! I, too, walk mostly alone, sometimes with Clemson and can carry on a very strong collaboration of opinions within myself. There are so many things to see and feel and hear out there it would be a shame to miss it all.

Leave a Reply

