Me, Myself and I

Oh, how we do get confused!

Educated speakers sometimes go overboard in their attempts to speak well: for a strange reason they make the most basic errors with “I” and “me.”

They know that “me” is the object pronoun, the form to be used for the object of a verb or preposition.  They also know that “I” is the subject pronoun to be used as the subject of a verb.  Knowing this, not one of them would ever say, “Mom called I for dinner.”  Nor  would they say, “Me called Mom for dinner.”

Why then do some very well-educated native speakers say, “Mom called my brother and I for dinner.”

What gives?

Perhaps it comes from an attempt to be overly correct and proper.  Maybe even a little self-righteous.

Myself, I am confused by it all.

Leave a Reply

